Winnie The Poe (Bonus for Poevember)

I wrote this today as part of my Poevember posts and I really impressed myself. Weird Al, watch out, I am taking over the strange children’s market on altered song lyrics. Seriously, I’ve been goofing on song lyrics since my brother Jason and I wrote the Vanilla Icing parody of Ice, Ice Baby on our Tandy computer. (I can still remember the part about the dog eating all the icing…”Take heed ’cause the dog’s gonna blow it, he’s coming for you just in case you didn’t know it”) See, I was born for this shit.

Ode to an Unusual Childhood

 

Deep in a genius writer’s mind

Dead lovers and madmen play

You’ll find bodies bricked up behind the walls

And hearts that keep beating away

 

A Raven squawks Nevermore, my friend

Fortunato and Prospero

A gold bug, a morgue,

A pendulum

But most of all Winnie the Poe

 

Winnie the Poe, Winnie the Poe

Morbid little writer obsessed with death

He’s Winnie the Poe, Winnie the Poe

Gory, Melancholy old man

 

Winnie the Poe, Winnie the Poe

Morbid little poet obsessed with death

He’s Winnie the Poe, Winnie the Poe

Gory, Melancholy old man.

 

 

