Dante’s Facebook

Prompt Day #335: Take a moment to reflect and list the top six things that annoy the hell out of you. Done? Assign each “thing” a singular name or a designated keyword. You now have your levels of Hell, Dante. Write about a character’s descent into the abyss.

Sorry if this offends anyone. It probably will but it is what it is. I hate these things. They make me want to log off Facebook forever. No one is always right. A great lesson to be learned. And no family is perfect, no matter how hard you try to make it look that way to the rest of us. So, I took a page from Dante. But I don’t have the energy to rhyme like him so instead I just said it as cryptically and as snarky as I could and let the chips fall where they may. I only have one left to do and it’s a doozy, my friends. Hang on until tomorrow, if you can still stomach me after this one. Also, you’ll note the strange numbering here. I saved this one since Dante has always been a muse to me. I love his visions of Hell, I love the mythology of Hell and Demons and I think you’ll find these themes in much of my work. Death, Hell, Demons, The afterlife. My big favs. So I wanted to end with Dante and the Deadly sins. Today is Dante, tomorrow for #365: 2 of my favorite sins.

Dante’s Facebook

  • Anti-Vaxxers/Medical Paranoia: Apple Slingers
  • Drama Mongers: ScapeQuotes
  • Self-Love via Selfies, Gym Check-ins, and Food Pics: Cult of Narcissus
  • Stubborn Ignorance: SeeNoHearNo
  • Intolerance in the name of religion: Picken Choosers
  • The Perfect Lifers: Pretty Little Liars

 

 

Midway in my life’s journey, I went on line

From the norm of my life, I found myself

The star of my own page, a life less divine.

This page, filled with my past

So full of promise, knowledge and friendship

Yet its very memory gives shape to fear and angst

 

WHAT’S ON YOUR MIND? HOW DO YOU FEEL

WHAT DO YOU BELIEVE IN? WHAT GOD DO YOU CHOOSE?

WHAT ARE YOUR CHILDREN DOING, IS IT ALL REAL?

WHAT DO YOU LOOK LIKE? ARE YOU HAPPY?

WHO ARE YOU VOTING FOR? ARE YOU SATISFIED IN YOUR MARRIAGE?

IS SOMETHING IN LIFE MAKING YOU SAD?

 

GIVE YOUR OPINION, SHOW ME THAT YOU’RE BETTER THAN ME

TELL ME WHAT TO THINK, HOW TO FEEL, WHAT TO BELIEVE

ABANDON ALL HOPE YE WHO ENTER HERE.

With a simple touch of an app

I leapt to the page and immediately saw

The lives of others laid out before me in perfect filters

Smiling, empty lives of The Perfect Little Liars

Who hide away their secrets, their pains, their suffering

Here in Hell’s FaceBook, they find no happiness, no pleasure

Their meaningless lives hidden behind the façade of perfect children

Smiling faces mask tears of regret, unfulfilled lives, and envy

Marriages without satisfaction, husbands and wives who feel alone

I scroll past their falseness and onto the next page

Trembling in the air of Hell’s FaceBook

Fearing that which I might find next in those I thought I knew.

Down I went to the second page alone

So much more drama, self-created for the attention

Of those not damned to the bestial moans.

 

On this page I came to storms of which I had not seen

Dark clouds hid the light from those who hid their true meanings

Behind words of doubt and self-pity

 

Winds and torrents of words rained down upon them

And they swirled around in tornadoes of their own creation

Unable to put their feet down and move on, instead they hold out hands

Begging for some human kindness that never comes

Because human kindness has turned its back on those

Seeking reassurance over and over until their very need is passé.

I moved on to the next page, for I could not help

Those who would not help themselves

The light brightened and became a glare

 

So bright I could not see, for all around me mirrors

Mirrors reflecting so strongly, they showed clean through those whose

Shallowness knew only of themselves

They stared unmoving into the blinding light of their own reflections

No longer able to move, or work out at the gym

No longer able to feign kissing the lens of cameras pointed only at themselves

They were unable to look away from their own ugliness

Reflected in the mirrors blinding us all

In the shine of their own self importance

 

I could no longer see and thus moved on again to yet another page

But here I found no peace, for this page

Was filled with those whose mouths hung open perpetually

Excrement spilling forth in a putrid slush

Because they refused to stop long enough to think and taste

And to know what it is they were polluting the air with

Their ignorance formed a frozen mush of putrescence

That they wallowed in ceaselessly

Never realizing the reek of themselves and their words.

The air sickened me and I had to leave, I scrolled on

On to the next page where those who ran in endless circles

Away from all help offered by modern medicine

Their skin pocked with ulcers and sores from ancient diseases

Long since cured but here help was refused and instead

They grazed like cattle on their greens and herbs

 

And like cattle they were waiting, waiting with their sickness

Their diseases, parasites, and sores

Waited to be loaded up and follow each other mindlessly to slaughter

I could not help them either because they refused me

Refused the more than a decade’s worth of scholarly learning

To chew their cud and tell themselves they were healthy

 

Because their friends with no knowledge of the subject

Said they were, said that I would lie for my own good

While spending years and days and hours away just to help them

I moved on for my own good, I left them behind to die

But I still did not find peace, I found instead discrimination

In a warped translation of words dictated a thousand years before

Here there were bodies carrying the load of dead souls within.

Incapable of love, forgiveness, or understanding

Instead, intolerance, hatred and misery

In the name of a God with whom they never bothered to acquaint themselves

The rot inside them leeched out into their environment

And the stench became too much for me to bare.

I moved on. I found nothing upon nothing

Hatred and oppression

And I became despondent.

In my search for humanity I had encountered a mountain

So steep it was monstrous; each ledge like teeth gnashing at me

Until I could see no end in sight

 

And then a light shown like a beacon

A star on my path home “Log out” it declared.

An answer so simple I had only to heed

The power to save myself from this Hell

Was just a click away, just to be safe

I followed Dorothy and clicked it three times

Home, inside my own mind

Where things make sense, where I can log out of this Hell

And come back again when I am stronger.

